Villa Corsini, on the slopes of the hills that surround Florence, was owned by Palla Strozzi during the early 15th century, who sold it to the Rinieri family in the first half of the century. The villa, originally characterised by the simple style of a noble rural property, underwent extensive modifications. The garden in particular, which is currently closed to the public, was transformed by Niccolò Tribolo, the same architect who realised the Garden of the Castello Villa and expansion of the Boboli Garden in the 16th century. The villa was then purchased in 1697 by Filippo Corsini, to whom it owes its current name, who commissioned Giovan Battista Foggini for the restructuring works. Today the Villa hosts the precious collection of marble and stone statues mainly coming from the Medici’s collection of the national archaeological Museum of Florence, displayed here since the flooding of 1966. The statue in porphyry of Emperor Adrian, unique in its kind, and the Peplophoros statue from Palazzo Cepparello, marvellous replica of Roman age from a Greek original of the 5th century B.C, stand out. The first floor hosts the findings from the territory, which trace the millenary history of the Florentine plain.